Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start
Jean and Rebecca Willard Professor in Classics

Ian Morris

Faculty Affiliate
King Center on Global Development

Jean and Rebecca Willard Professor of Classics
Department of Classics

Ian Morris is a historian and archaeologist and holds Stanford's Jean and Rebecca Willard Professorship in classics. In addition to his Stanford appointment, he is also a senior fellow of the IDEAS think tank at the London School of Economics, a corresponding fellow of the British Academy, a senior fellow of the Institute for Advanced Studies at the University of Toulouse, a fellow of the Society of Antiquaries and the Royal Society for the Arts, a contributing editor at the strategic forecasting company Stratfor, and a member of the scientific advisory board of the Max Planck Institute.

Professor Morris began his career studying the rise of the Greek city-state, then moved on to ancient economics, and now works on global history since the Ice Age. He has published fourteen books. His 2010 book, Why the West Rules--For Now, has been translated into thirteen languages and has won a number of literary awards. He has excavated archaeological sites in Britain, Greece, and Italy, most recently as director of Stanford's dig at Monte Polizzo in Sicily. 

In addition to digging and writing, Morris regularly speaks to academic, business, government, and strategy groups; in recent years, he has been the Roman Professor of International Studies at the London School of Economics, a visiting professor in the University of Zurich's Business School, and a distinguished visitor in the Sage Center for the Study of Mind at the University of California-Santa Barbara. At Stanford, he has served as chair of the classics department, director of the Archaeology Center, and senior associate dean of humanities and sciences. His research fellowships include awards from the Guggenheim and Carnegie foundations and the National Geographic Society, and he has received two honorary doctorates and a Dean's Award for excellence in teaching.